Consumer Technology Hall of Fame

April 16, 2024 | Washington, D.C

The Consumer Technology Hall of Fame is a prestigious awards program that honors innovators who have made significant contributions to consumer technology.

Launched in 2000, past inductees have advanced how we live, work and play, including the developers of iTunes, the creator of Bluetooth, the co-inventor of the Roomba, the founder of RCA — the U.S.’s first radio company — and more. Each CT Hall of Fame class welcomes a new group of inventors, engineers, business leaders, retailers and journalists.

We are looking forward to recognizing the next class of honorees this spring as part of CTA’s Digital Patriots Dinner in Washington, D.C. 

How to Participate 

Nominate a Tech Pioneer

We are seeking nominations for the next class of industry pioneers.

Deadline: Oct. 31

Eligibility criteria for induction:

  • Candidates must have made a significant contribution that positively impacted the consumer technology industry in terms of leadership, technical and marketing development and enhanced the lifestyle and work style of consumers.
  • Candidates must have been involved in the consumer technology industry for at least ten (10) years prior to the year of consideration for induction (e.g., a nominee for consideration for the class of 2022 must have been active in the industry prior to 2012).

Become a Judge

We are looking for judges to help us recognize the next class of industry pioneers.

Deadline: Oct. 20

The judging panel will include:

  • Representatives who currently sit on or are selected by the Executive Board;
  • Industry trade journalists with at least five years of experience and who are covering the consumer technology industry as an employee or regular freelancer with a recognized industry media outlet;
  • Representatives who currently sit on or are nominated by CTA’s Communications Committee;
  • And members of current CTA staff. 

Please note: Judges must disclose if they are an associate or are or have previously been employed by a nominee or nominee’s company. Judges must recuse themselves from voting for that nominee.

As a judge, you will be responsible for reviewing the nominations over a specific period in November 2023. Additional details will be shared if you are selected.

The CT Hall of Fame (HOF) Program

View highlights from the 2022 Hall of Fame dinner held in New York City.

Hall of Fame Honorees


Dave Heller, William Kincaid, Jeffrey Robbin: Apple Inc.

Tim Baxter: formerly Samsung

Mike May: GoodMaps, founder of Sendero Group

Wanda Gass: Texas Instruments

Joseph and Mayer Akhtarzad: Video and Audio Center

Hank Shocklee: Shocklee Entertainment

2022 Hall of Fame Judges

Melissa Andresko


Ed Baig


Tom Campbell

Video and Audio Center, 2015 Hall of Fame

Rob Calem

tech freelance

Roger Cheng


Bob Fields


Denise Gibson

Ice Mobility

Suzanne Kantra


Nacy Klosek

Dealerscope, 2021 Hall of Fame

Sally Lange


Steve Smith

Formerly TWICE, 2016 Hall of Fame

Mike Snider

USA Today

Greg Tarr


John Taylor

LG Electronics