Press Release | March 12, 2024

CTA Honors Members of Congress and Industry Executives for Leadership in the Technology Industry  

Laura Ambrosio

The Consumer Technology Association (CTA)® will recognize U.S. Representatives Robin Kelly (D-IL) and Bob Latta (R-OH) and Co-founder of iRobot Colin Angle as Digital Patriots, an award given to leaders who champion policies vital to innovation in consumer technology. CTA will also induct Denise Gibson, former Motorola Vice President and co-founder of Ice Mobility, to the Consumer Technology Hall of Fame, an award that honors innovators who have made significant contributions to the consumer technology industry.  

The honorees will be recognized during an awards dinner ceremony on Tuesday, April 16 in Washington, DC as part of CTA’s Tech Week, which brings together lawmakers and technology companies to experience the latest tech innovations and discuss technology policy issues including broadband, self-driving vehicles, digital health and more. The invitation-only ceremony is open to CTA members, qualified media, and industry and government guests. 

 “We are thrilled to recognize these government and industry leaders for their commitment to ensuring innovation in America thrives and their service to advancing the technology that makes our everyday lives better, safer, and healthier,” said Gary Shapiro, CEO, CTA. “As CTA celebrates its 100th anniversary, we are excited to honor these trailblazers who have made their mark on the tech industry, while we look forward to what the next 100 years brings.”   

Representative Robin Kelly  

Congresswoman Robin Kelly is a member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, where she focuses on expanding access to healthcare, consumer protection for American families, and economic development. In her role on the Energy and Commerce Committee, Congresswoman Kelly serves on the Health, Communications and Technology, and Innovation, Data, and Commerce subcommittees. With the support of CTA, Congresswoman Kelly leads the newly-established Congressional Digital Health Caucus. The Caucus will shape policies that support the integration of digital health technologies into the healthcare landscape. She was chosen to receive the CTA Digital Patriots Award for her work advancing digital health access, equity, and innovation.  

Representative Bob Latta  

Congressman Bob Latta is a senior member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, where he focuses on crafting the nation’s energy, telecommunications, environment, health care, and interstate commerce policy. He is also chair of the Subcommittee on Communications and Technology where he advocates for policies that help consumers, grow the economy, spur innovation, and close the digital divide. Previously, Congressman Latta chaired the Digital Commerce and Consumer Protection Subcommittee where he advocated for policies that protected consumers and promoted privacy, data security, and motor vehicle safety. Congressman Latta was selected as a CTA Digital Patriot for his leadership to introduce the SELF DRIVE Act and advance legislation to implement a federal framework for autonomous vehicles, which would improve roadway safety and save lives.  

Colin Angle  

Colin Angle is former chief executive officer and co-founder of iRobot. Under Colin's leadership for more than 30 years, iRobot grew from an MIT startup to a global leader in consumer robots, including the award-winning Roomba® robot vacuum and the Braava® family of robot mops. Angle was inducted into the CT Hall of Fame in 2019 for his contributions in making robots in the home commonplace and establishing the home robot as a product category. He was selected as an industry honoree for the CTA Digital Patriots Award for his long-time advocacy for the consumer technology industry, including calling for the removal of tariffs on technology products and supporting STEM education through the creation of National Robotics Week. Recently, the European Commission, with support from the Federal Trade Commission, blocked a deal for Amazon to acquire iRobot, undercutting a deal between two successful American companies that would have benefitted consumers. 

Denise Gibson  

Denise Gibson was nominated to be inducted into the CT Hall of Fame for being a visionary leader and industry trailblazer. Gibson led the North America technical and commercial teams for Motorola during its rapid ascent to becoming a global leader in wireless handsets. She then shifted to entrepreneurship launching two fast-growth companies, as Founder and CEO of Brightstar US and Co-Founder of Ice Mobility, developing services and providing marketplace solutions focused on accelerating the spread of wireless technology. A longtime advocate of innovation and accessibility in consumer technology, Gibson has held multiple roles within CTA including: Executive Board, Chair of the CTA Foundation, Board of Industry Leaders, CTAPAC Leadership Board, Audit Committee Chair, and the Diversity Investment Committee. Gibson is a catalyst in CTA’s commitment to invest $10 million with venture funds that are focused on funding women-led startups, underrepresented founders, and diverse leadership teams. 

These honorees join previous honorees including Senator Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Senator Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Michael Dell and Bill Gates. 

CONTACT: Media interested in complimentary registration for the Digital Patriots and Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony, should reach out to: Laura Ambrosio; For all other non-media questions, please contact: