Press Release | April 18, 2023

CTA Names 14 States Innovation Champions

Ed Frank

Today the Consumer Technology Association (CTA) ® is releasing its 2023 U.S. Innovation Scorecard, which evaluates all 50 states across 11 public policy categories, including internet, STEM education, and support for emerging technologies like self-driving vehicles, drones, and telehealth. 

In this year’s scorecard, CTA’s sixth edition, the group named 14 states as Innovation Champions – the highest-scoring category. Those 14 states, in alphabetical order, are: 

  • Arizona  

  • Colorado 

  • Indiana 

  • Kansas 

  • Maryland 

  • Massachusetts 

  • Michigan 


  • Minnesota 

  • Nevada 

  • North Dakota 

  • Texas 

  • Utah 

  • Virginia 

  • Washington 


“States that allow businesses to grow and create new competition and even new industries bring benefits to their own residents and to people all over the world, said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, CTA. “Our Innovation Champions show that smart policy paired with big ideas can deliver huge rewards for us all.” 

This year’s Scorecard added two new categories to its overall evaluation: Telehealth, which measures how states embraced emerging technologies in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, and Tort Reform, which measures how states keep consumer prices low by protecting businesses from abusive litigation. 

 This year’s Innovation Champions are being announced at CTA’s Digital Patriots Dinner in Washington, DC. The event also honored Digital Patriots U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and U.S. Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-N.Y.) 

Other notes of interest from the 2023 Innovation Scorecard: 

  • Washington State was the top-ranked overall state in this year’s scorecard, edging out Massachusetts and 2020’s top-ranked state, Colorado.  

  • 10 of this year’s 14 Innovation Champions earned the same honor when CTA last produced the Scorecard in January 2020; 

  • Three states that were not Innovation Champions in 2020 jumped into the top category: Nevada, North Dakota, and Texas. North Dakota and Texas were Innovation Leaders in 2020, while Nevada moved from the third-ranked category of Innovation Adopter in 2020 and into the top tier this year; 

  • Four states that were Innovation Champions in 2020 fell out of that top category and are listed as Innovation Leaders in 2023: Iowa, Missouri, Nebraska, and New Hampshire.  

To explore the full report and read state-by-state profiles, visit