Press Release | March 20, 2018

CTA Names Reps. Susan W. Brooks and Hakeem Jeffries as 2018 Digital Patriots Honorees

Sarah Brown Izzy Santa
The Consumer Technology Association (CTA)  today announced Reps. Susan W. Brooks (R-IN) and Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) as 2018 Digital Patriot Honorees. Reps. Brooks and Jeffries will be recognized at CTA’s 14th annual Digital Patriots Dinner at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery on April 17, 2018.
“Our honorees work tirelessly to advance an innovation agenda.  They know that technology expands economic opportunity, strengthens communities, and improves lives,” said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, CTA.  “Thanks to Representative Brooks and Representative Jeffries, Americans have access to new and extraordinary tools to travel, connect with each other, and build businesses. They recognize that America’s global technology leadership is not a given, but must be earned every day through smart and visionary policymaking.”
Rep. Brooks is an active tech advocate, especially on broadband issues. She co-founded the 5G Caucus with Michigan Rep. Debbie Dingell (D), has made public safety communications and streamlining broadband deployment and innovation her focus, and was chosen to be part of Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy’s Innovation Initiative. Rep. Brooks is co-chair of the Women’s High Tech Coalition, where she is involved with encouraging young girls to partake in computer science and STEM programs and advocating for women to join technology policy. Rep. Brooks currently serves on the House Energy and Commerce Committee and is a member of the Communication and Technology, Health, and Oversight and Investigations subcommittees. As Chairwoman of the House Committee on Ethics, she is working with colleagues to restore confidence in Congress.
Rep. Jeffries’ district is home to startup companies such as Kickstarter, MakerBot and Etsy. As a member of the House Judiciary Committee, Rep. Jeffries has advocated for patent reform, partnering with Texas Rep. Blake Farenthold (R) to introduce the Patent Litigation and Innovation Act. He has stood up for new entrepreneurial platforms and has championed ride-sharing services as a key solution to urban transportation. He was elected by colleagues to co-chair the House Democratic Policy & Communications Committee where he is a member of the Democratic Leadership Team that helps run the messaging for House Democrats. He is also a co-chair of the bipartisan Intellectual Property Caucus, is the founder of the Criminal Justice & the Public Safety Caucus and is a member of the House Judiciary Committee and House Budget Committee.
If interested in attending the invitation-only dinner, apply here or send an email to to determine if you qualify.
Check out video from 2017’s Digital Patriots Dinner, which honored Rep. Suzan Delbene (D-WA), Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX), Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA) and Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA).

About Consumer Technology Association:
Consumer Technology Association (CTA)TM is the trade association representing the $351 billion U.S. consumer technology industry, which supports more than 15 million U.S. jobs. More than 2,200 companies – 80 percent are small businesses and startups; others are among the world’s best known brands – enjoy the benefits of CTA membership including policy advocacy, market research, technical education, industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and strategic relationships. CTA also owns and produces CES® – the world’s gathering place for all who thrive on the business of consumer technologies. Profits from CES are reinvested into CTA’s industry services.