News > Press Releases

CTA Names Reps. Greg Walden and Stephanie Murphy as 2019 Digital Patriots

Arlington, VA – April 22, 2019 – 

The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) today announced Reps. Greg Walden (R-OR) and Stephanie Murphy (D-FL) will receive 2019 Digital Patriots Awards. The annual awards honor elected officials who champion policies vital to innovation in consumer technology.

“Reps. Walden and Murphy fight for smart, pro-growth policies that make America the world’s innovation leader,” said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, CTA. “They know that technology drives economic growth. For every job created in the consumer tech sector, close to three jobs are supported throughout the rest of our economy. We thank our Digital Patriots for their leadership and will continue working with them to create prosperity and opportunities from coast to coast.”

As the current Ranking Member and former Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, Rep. Walden ensured a smooth transition to digital television and successfully fought for the passage of the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act to ban local and state taxation of internet access. He also led the push to acquire unused broadcast spectrum for high-speed data services through bills such as the recent bipartisan RAY BAUM’s Act. Rep. Walden’s Oregon district employs almost 40,000 tech workers, generating $3.5 million back to the local economy.

Representing Orlando, FL, Rep. Murphy is a leading voice on the House Ways and Means Subcommittee on Trade. She is a proponent of smart trade policy, standing up against tariffs that hurt small businesses and consumers. She is also a member of the Subcommittee on Worker and Family Support, which has jurisdiction over a range of critical safety-net initiatives for workers, children and families. Known for her pragmatic and bipartisan approach, Rep. Murphy is the leader of the Blue Dog Coalition, Chair of Future Forum and member of the Problem Solvers Caucus. Rep. Murphy’s district employs 54,000 tech workers, generating $5.9 million back to the local economy.

In addition, Deputy Assistant to the President for Technology Policy and Deputy U.S. Chief Technology Officer Michael Kratsios and Switzerland’s Ambassador to the U.S. Martin Dahinden and will appear onstage to accept the 2019 International Innovation Champion awards – for leading the world in having the best environment for innovation – on behalf of their countries.

The 15th annual Digital Patriots Dinner will be held on April 30 at the National Museum of African American History and Culture.