News > Blog

Tech Policy Is Crossing Party Lines

Michael Williams, Digital Media Intern, Consumer Technology Association (CTA)
To maintain the United States’ status as the world’s technology leader, members of Congress must pass and support pro-innovation legislation. At the 13th annual Digital Patriots Dinner, the Consumer Technology Association (CTA) will honor leaders from both parties for their commitment to the future of technology. Here’s a brief look at this year’s honorees:

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Wash.)
Rep. McMorris Rodgers currently serves as the House Republican Conference Chair and is committed to helping companies overcome regulatory hurdles. She implemented the “New Media Challenge,” resulting in 100 percent of Republicans adopting social media for GOP outreach. She is also a proponent of STEM education and technology in the classroom.
Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.)
Rep. DelBene has served Washington’s 1st congressional district since 2012. Her experience as a technology entrepreneur makes her a powerful voice for patent reform and privacy rights. She is currently the co-chair of both the Congressional Internet of Things Caucus and Women’s High Tech Coalition.
Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-Calif.)
As one of the youngest and most tech-savvy Congressional members, Rep. Swalwell has been a fierce advocate for innovation. He currently serves as co-chair of the Sharing Economy Caucus and was instrumental in passage of the Government Travel Modernization Act. At CES 2017, Rep. Swalwell discussed tech issues in wake of the new administration.
Rep. Will Hurd (R-Texas)
Rep. Hurd chairs the House IT Subcommittee and sponsored the Modernizing Government Technology Act, which gave federal employees alternate options for official, reimbursable travel. He discussed the tech issues facing the new administration and Congress at the Innovation Policy Summit at CES 2017. Rep. Hurd made headlines last month for live-streaming his “Bipartisan Road Trip” from San Antonio to Washington.