Green Did you know a TV, running 5 hrs a day, only uses $21.09 of electricity a year?
Video Gary Shapiro discusses the impact of government policies on the economy.
CEA Get the big picture with CEA's digital imaging benchmark
CEA Names Industry Leaders to Be Inducted Into CE Hall Of Fame
Arlington, VA – 04/30/2012 – The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)® today announced the 2012 class of inductees into the Consumer Electronics (CE) Hall of Fame. The CE Hall of Fame, created in 2000, honors the leaders in the consumer technology industry who have shaped and advanced innovation. 
The inductees this year include company founders and inventors, those who fervently promote technology, gifted marketers and the retailers that educate and deliver products to consumers. They all share a passion for innovation. The 2012 class of inductees was selected on February 22, 2012, in New York City by a panel of media and industry professionals, who judged the nominations submitted online by manufacturers, retailers and industry journalists.
“This elite group of leaders has laid the foundation that our industry continues to build upon,” said CEA President and CEO Gary Shapiro. “Their vision, drive to excel and enthusiasm have helped to create the innovative CE products and services that have improved the lives of consumers worldwide. It is a pleasure to recognize this prestigious group.”
The 12 new honorees will be inducted into the CE Hall of Fame during CEA’s Industry Forum to be held in San Francisco on October 14-17, 2012. During the event, CEA will host an awards dinner to honor the 2012 CE Hall of Fame class on Tuesday, October 16 at the Westin St. Francis.
Following are the 2012 members of the CE Hall of Fame in alphabetical order:
  • Willard Boyle and George Smith – inventors of the charge-coupled device (CCD) at Bell Labs
  • Robert Briskman – inventor of satellite radio
  • Richard Citta – creator of the VSB digital TV transmission standard
  • Bjorn Dybdahl – founder of consumer electronics retailer Bjorn’s
  • Douglas Engelbart – inventor of the computer mouse and HTML
  • Charlie Ergen – founder of satellite companies Echostar and Dish Network
  • Larry Finley – founder of the International Tape Association (now the International Recording Media Association)
  • Fansy and Henry Harold Gregg – founders of consumer electronics retailer HH Gregg
  • In Hwoi Koo – founder of LG Corp.
  • Byung-Chull Lee – founder of Samsung Electronics
 To read the 2011 CE Hall of Fame booklet from last year’s dinner, visit: Complete inductee bios will appear in the 2012 booklet as well as online.
About the Consumer Technology Assocation

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the preeminent trade association promoting growth in the $195 billion U.S. consumer electronics industry. More than 2,000 companies enjoy the benefits of CEA membership, including legislative advocacy, market research, technical training and education, industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and strategic relationships. CEA also owns and produces the International CES – The Global Stage for Innovation. All profits from CES are reinvested into CEA’s industry services. Find CEA online at, and through social media;  facebookicon  twitter blogrss.

Categories:  CEA General, Vision  — Tags:  CE, CEA's, Fame, Forum, Hall, Industry, of, Press

Events and Webinars
See More


Receive customized RSS feeds delivered straight to your inbox. Select the beats that interest you!

Read More

Digital Answer Man Tour

CEA's Digital Answer Man Jim Barry visits media outlets annually, educating consumers on new products and trends. CEA members can add their products to the tour at no charge!

Learn More

Electronics Industry Business Directory